WhatsApp has announced the roll out of a major security feature- two-step verification. With an aim to strengthen security of its 1.2 billion users, WhatsApp has rolled out the feature for all users on Android, iOS and Windows Phone platforms. Read on to find out the steps to enable two-step verification on WhatsApp.
For those who are unaware, two-step verification is an optional feature on WhatsApp that will add more security to your account. Here’s how you can enable it on your WhatsApp:
How To Enable Two-Step Verification On WhatsApp
- Launch WhatsApp
- Go to Settings Option
- Go to Accounts > Two-step verification > Enable.
- Once you enable this feature, you will be asked to enter a chosen pass-code.
- You will also be asked to provide e-mail (optionally) so that you can recover your WhatsApp account in case you forget the pass-code.
Now, whenever you will register your phone number with WhatsApp again, you will be asked to enter a six-digit pass-code which you have created. To make sure that you do not forget the pass-code, WhatsApp will periodically ask you to enter your pass-code. If you forget your six-digit pass-code, a link will be sent to your e-mail to disable two-step verification. It is thus, highly recommended to add a valid e-mail if you are prone to forgetting your pass-codes.
One thing that you must keep in mind is that you should not click on the link sent to your e-mail by WhatsApp, if you had not requested for it. In that case, someone else could be trying to verify your phone number on WhatsApp.
Once you enable two-step verification, your number will not be allowed to re-verify on WhatsApp within 7 days of last using WhatsApp without pass-code. To put it into simple words, if you forget the pass-code that you created and did not provide an e-mail, then you will not be allowed to re-verify on WhatsApp within 7 days of last using WhatsApp. After 7 days, your number would be able to re-verify on WhatsApp without pass-code. However, all the pending messages will be deleted on re-verifying. Furthermore, if you re-verify on WhatsApp after 30 days of last using WhatsApp, without using pass-code, then your account will be deleted and a new account will be created on re-verifying.