With recent update Whats app the most popular messaging service added a new privacy feature in it. Now with a new update, release few days back, one can control the appearance of their last seen, profile photo and status. With the new privacy feature user has now control of their last seen, profile pic and status to whom they want to let it see. The privacy is the biggest issue with software and apps todays. The new privacy feature let you hide your last seen, profile photo and even status from everyone, from your contacts and from nobody.
But before starting, let me clear the meaning of Everyone, My Contacts and Nobody
Everyone means everyone; simply anyone on whats app, saved your contact number in their contacts can see your status, last seen and profile pic
My contacts seem confusing with some of the users as they always questions about it. If you select My Contacts option in privacy menu then its meaning is the contacts you have saved in your smartphone, only they can see your status, last seen and profile pic. If other person saved your contact in his smartphone, but you don’t have saved his number in your smartphone then he or she will not be able to see your stuffs. In other simple words when you select the My Contacts option in privacy menu then you are allowing seeing your stuffs to only your contacts.
Nobody means no one will able to see your last seen, status and profile pic. But this one setting is reciprocal, means if you don’t allow anyone to see your stuffs then whats app will add the same restrictions to you too. Means you also won’t be able to see others last seen, status and profile pic too.
By default users privacy setting is set to allow any user to see your last seen, Profile pic and status. So anyone with your number can see these things of yours. And if you are concern about your privacy then follow below steps.
To change your privacy simply go to WhatsApp > Settings > Account > Privacy.
And in the Privacy menu set the terms as you want.