Suppose you want to send an email to one fo your friend, but you don’t have his email address. You have not exchanged your email address with each other. But on Google+ you can find your friends Google+ account, and you have already added him to your Google+ circle. So Google is going to solve out your problem with a new update to Gmail. Last night Google posted about it to his official blog saying Gmail update :- Reach More people you know. So what this new update will affect is that it will start showing your Google+ connections as recipients while composing and email address if you have not exchanged your email address yet.
Why this update?
So may be many people are getting confused with it, many questions are rising in your mind like-
Can anyone send me email now?
How is it going to affect my privacy?
Can anyone see my email address now?
But let me clear all of these a little bit now. Think about it why Google need to bring such update?
You can guess about it as this that many of your friends are on Google+ and Facebook too. But when you want to contact someone, everyone here surely use Facebook instead of Google+ or Gmail. You just find there ID on Facebook, hit Add as friend button, hit a message and all done.
To make its social platform Google+ in competition like others and making Gmail more useful than ever, Google is doing such updates. And in my opinion these types of updates are inevitable and useful for users.
How it works?
Simply it’s like you are emailing to your Google+ connection. You don’t know the email address of a person, you just start typing his name into Gmail’s “to” field and his name pops out, you select his name, compose mail, send and all done.
You have just send a message to that person without knowing his email address. You have not harmed his privacy too.
The send message will appear in the social category of receiver’s inbox(if enabled). And when he responds you back or add you in his circles, then you can start another conversation.
How to control privacy?
When this update will be available to everyone, Google will send you an email regarding this and then you will see a new setting in Gmail. And from there you can manage your privacy. The service will goes live over the next few days.